Introduced in 2020, the RBHS Chancellor Awards were established to acknowledge the extraordinary work of RBHS faculty and staff and celebrate institution-wide excellence in research in the biomedical and health sciences; clinical care; community service; mentorship; education; leadership; diversity, equity, and inclusion; and staff service and support.

Nominated by their peers, recipients of the awards are selected by the RBHS Chancellor Awards Committee, which reviews the contributions of the nominees.

RBHS also recognizes one faculty member annually with the RBHS Chancellor Lifetime Achievement Award, which acknowledges the extraordinary, transformative, and significant lifetime contributions of our faculty to their academic profession and to Rutgers University.

Basic Sciences Researcher Award

Early Career

  • Shuo Xiao (Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy), Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology: “For the development of novel approaches to investigate female reproductive health and pathophysiology in response to drugs and toxicants.”

Distinguished Educator Award

  • Liza Barbarello-Andrews (Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy), Clinical Director, Simulation and Clinical Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Administration: “For leadership, mentorship, and transformative vision in simulation-enhanced learning and interprofessional education.”

Distinguished Mentor Award

  • Lauren Aleksunes (Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy), Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology: “For enthusiastic, dedicated, and unrelenting efforts in mentoring the next generation of toxicologists and clinician-scientists.”

Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award

  • Nancy Cintron (Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy), Associate Dean for Student Services and Director for the Educational Opportunity Fund, Office for Student Development/EOF: “For promoting and enacting diversity, equity, and inclusion principles at Rutgers University for 35 years.”

Sustained Service Award

  • Deborah A. Stalling (Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy), Business Manager, Department of Chemical Biology: “For providing outstanding administrative leadership, personnel management, and mentoring at Rutgers for 47 years and counting.”

Emerging Leader Award

  • Lisa Mulé (Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy), Director of Administration, Office of the Dean: “For organizational and leadership abilities in keeping the administrative functions of the school thriving, particularly in light of challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.”

Team Award

  • The New Brunswick Point of Dispensing Vaccine Clinic
    • Leslie Barta, Donna Feudo, Nina Raps, Michala Rose, Parth Shah, Machelle Wooston (Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy), Director of Simulation and COVID-19 Vaccination POD Manager; Associate Dean of Experiential Education Program and Adjunct Clinical Professor; COVID Vaccine Management Leader; Program Coordinator of Student – Rutgers Immunization Group; Assistant Point of Dispensing Manager; Covid Vaccine Clinic Clinical Lead, respectively: “For their contributions to provide interprofessional experiential learning while providing critical healthcare for the Rutgers community.”

Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award

  • Debra Laskin (Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy), Distinguished Professor and Roy A. Bowers Endowed Chair of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology: “For pioneering research on the role of inflammatory macrophages in tissue injury and chronic disease induced by drugs and chemicals.”