Pharmacy Website



Christopher J. Molloy, PhD, RPh
Senior Vice President, Research and Economic Development
Distinguished Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology

Phone: (848) 932-5663
Fax: (732) 932-8060

PhD, Rutgers University and UMDNJ



BS (Pharmacy), Rutgers University
PhD, Rutgers University
Post-Doc, National Cancer Institute, NIH


Dr. Molloy is a molecular and cellular pharmacologist with extensive drug
discovery research and management experience in the biopharmaceutical industry.
He has led multiple multidisciplinary drug discovery teams that have advanced
new chemical entities from conception into human clinical trials in therapeutic
areas such as inflammation, oncology, and cardiovascular disease. Prior to
joining Rutgers, Molloy held senior research and management positions at
Johnson and Johnson Pharmaceutical Research and Development LLC., 3-Dimensional
Pharmaceuticals Inc., and the Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceutical Research


Representative Publications

Taylor, D. S., Cheng, X., Pawlowski, J.E., Wallace, A.R., Ferrer, P. and Molloy, C.J.: Epiregulin is a potent vascular smooth muscle cell-derived autocrine mitogen induced by angiotensin II, endothelin-1, and thrombin. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 96:1633-1638, 1999.

Grasberger, B.L., Schubert, C., Koblish, H.K., Carver, T.E., Franks, C.F., Zhao, S., Lu, T., LaFrance, L.V., Parks, D.J., Milkiewicz, K.L., Calvo, R.R., Lattanze, J., Ramachandren, K., Petrella, E.C., Cummings, M.D., Manthey, C.L., Deckman, I.C., Maguire, D., Spurlino, J.S., Tomczuk, B.E., Bone, R.F., Salemme, F.R., Maroney, A.C., Pantoliano, M., Bylebyl, G., Zhang, M., Yurkow, E.J., Molloy, C.J. and Bone, R.: Discovery and co-crystal structures of benzodiazepinedione HDM2 antagonists that activate p53 in cells. J.Med. Chem. 48:909-912, 2005.

Koblish, H.K., Zhao, S., Franks, C.F., Donatelli, R.R., Tominovish, R.M., LaFrance, L.V., Leonard, K.A., Gushue, J.M., Parks, D.J., Calvo, R.R., Milkiewicz, K.L., Marugan, J.J., Raboisson, P., Cummings, M.D., Grasberger, B.L., Johnson, D.L., Lu, T., Molloy, C.J., and Maroney, A.C.: Benzodiazepinedione inhibitors of the Hdm2:p53 complex suppress human tumor cell proliferation in vitro and sensitize tumors to doxorubicin in vivo. Mol. Cancer Therap. 5:160-169, 2006.

Liem-Moolenaar, M., Cerneus, D., Molloy, C.J., End, D., Brown, K.H., de Kam, M., Cohen, A.F., van Hensbergen, Y., Burggraaf, J.: Pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics of the novel thrombopoietin mimetic peptide RWJ-800088 in man.  Clin. Pharmacol. Ther. 84:481-487, 2008.

Manthey, C.L., Johnson, D.L., Illig, C.R., Tuman, R.W., Zhou, Z., Baker, J.F., Chaikin, M.A., Donatelli, R.R., Franks, C.F., Zeng, L., Crysler, C., Chen, Y., Yurkow, E.J., Boczon, L., Meegalla, S.K., Wilson, K.J., Wall, M.J., Chen, J., Ballentine, S.K., Ott, H., Baumann, C., Lawrence, D., Tomczuk, B.E., Molloy, C.J.: JNJ-28312141, a novel orally active colony-stimulating factor-1 receptor/FMS-related receptor tyrosine kinase-3 receptor tyrosine kinase inhibitor with potential utility in solid tumors, bone metastases, and acute myeloid leukemia. Mol. Cancer Ther. 8:3151-61, 2009.

Illig, C.R., Manthey, C.L., Wall, M.J., Meegalla, S.K., Chen, J., Wilson, K.J., Ballentine, S.K., DesJarlais, R.L., Schubert, C., Crysler, C.S., Chen, Y., Molloy, C.J., Chaikin, M.A., Donatelli, R.R., Yurkow, E., Zhou, Z., Player, M., and Tomczuk. B.E.: Optimization of a potent class of arylamide Colony-Stimulating Factor-1 receptor inhibitors leading to anti-inflammatory clinical candidate 4-cyano-N-[2-(1-cyclohexen-1-yl)-4-[1-[(dimethylamino)acetyl]-4-piperidinyl]phenyl]-1H-imadazole-2-carboxamide (JNJ-28312141), J. Med. Chem., 54:7860-7883, 2011.

Awards and Honors


1986    Biotechnology Fellowship Award, National Cancer Institute
1991   "Hot Paper" Award in The Scientist (Vol. 5) for the Nature publication entitled: "PDGF
            Induction of Tyrosine Phosphorylation of GTPase Activating Protein"
2004    Excellence in Science Award, Johnson & Johnson
2006    Standards of Leadership Award, Johnson & Johnson
2009    Distinguished Alumnus Award, Rutgers-Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
2011    New Jersey Pharmacists Association, Presidential Citation
2012    NJBiz Power 50 Health Care
2013    Healthcare Institute of New Jersey (HINJ), Special Recognition Award